BackupBuddy: Getting Started

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 5: Line 5:
 
==Backups==
 
==Backups==
 
BackupBuddy has two main types of backups, full and database only.
 
BackupBuddy has two main types of backups, full and database only.
 
  
 
'''Full Backup'''
 
'''Full Backup'''
Line 28: Line 27:
 
* Backup site settings and information (backupbuddy_dat.php file)
 
* Backup site settings and information (backupbuddy_dat.php file)
  
==Step 2==
 
This step allows the user to select whether they are restoring to the same location or migrating to a new location.
 
* Selecting ''Migrate to new server'' will NOT pre-fill any of the server/database information for step 4.
 
* Selecting ''Restore to same server'' will pre-fill some of the server/database information for step 4.
 
  
==Step 3==
+
==What can I do with my backup?==
The file extraction process occurs during this step, and the extraction method used is displayed.
+
Once you have created a backup you can use it to restore the site to the exactly same as it was when you created the backup. This feature is very useful if something goes wrong on the site and you want to restore the site to how it was when you created the backup, similar to edit undo.
 +
Another way that a BackupBuddy backup can be used is to migrate the site to a new location. This is great for easily moving a site from a development area to a live directory without loosing any of your changes or having to change any of the site URLs in the database.
 +
 
 +
 
 +
==Backup Storage==
 +
If the site goes down and the backups are stored on the site then you won't be able to get to it. Backup has built in features that allow for easily sending backups to different remote locations.
 +
Here is a list of the available remote locations that BackupBuddy can send to:
 +
* Amazon S3
 +
* Dropbox
 +
* Rackspace
 +
* FTP
 +
* Email
  
==Step 4==
 
This step is used to set the URL and database connection information.
 
* New Blog URL
 
** This field will be pre-set using the information for the current directory the user is restoring to.
 
* MySQL Server
 
** This is the address to the mySQL server where your database will be stored.  99% of the time this is localhost.  The location of your mySQL server will be provided to you by your host if it differs.
 
* Database Name
 
** This is the name of the database you want to import your blog into. The database user must have permissions to be able to access this database.  If you are migrating this blog to a new host you will need to create this database (ie using CPanel or phpmyadmin) and create a mysql database user with permissions.
 
* Database User
 
** This is the database user account that has permission to access the database name in the input above.  This user must be given permission to this database for the import to work.
 
* Database Pass
 
** This is the password for the database user.
 
* Database Prefix
 
** This is the prefix given to all tables in the database.  If you are cloning the site on the same server AND the same database name then you will want to change this or else the imported database will overwrite the existing tables.
 
After entering the database information there is a button labelled "test database settings" that will test the validity of that connection information.
 
  
==Step 5==
+
==Scheduled Backups==
The wp-config.php information is set, the database information is imported, and the links are changed during this step.
+
BackupBuddy also allows you to create schedules for when backups should be created and where they should be sent to. This feature helps to create a consistent amount of time between each backup without having to remember to login and create the backup.
  
==Step 6==
 
This step attempts to delete
 
* importbuddy.php
 
* db_1.sql
 
* backupbuddy_dat.php
 
  
 
[[Category:PluginBuddy]]
 
[[Category:PluginBuddy]]

Revision as of 15:41, June 3, 2011


Contents

What does it mean?

BackupBuddy is the all-in-one solution for backups, restoration, and migration. The single backup ZIP file created can be used with the import & migration script to quickly and easily restore your site on the same server or even migrate to a new host with different settings.

Backups

BackupBuddy has two main types of backups, full and database only.

Full Backup When a full backup is created using BackupBuddy it creates a zip file of the entire site. Specifics:

  • All of the files in the root directory
    • WordPress core files
    • Themes
    • Plugins
    • Uploads
    • Everything in the root folder
  • The Sites Database
    • An sql file with all the information in the website's database
  • Backup site settings and information (backupbuddy_dat.php file)


Database Only Backup A database only backup is a copy of the pages, posts, settings, and any other information that is being stored in the database. Specifics:

  • The Sites Database
    • An sql file with all the information in the website's database
  • Backup site settings and information (backupbuddy_dat.php file)


What can I do with my backup?

Once you have created a backup you can use it to restore the site to the exactly same as it was when you created the backup. This feature is very useful if something goes wrong on the site and you want to restore the site to how it was when you created the backup, similar to edit undo. Another way that a BackupBuddy backup can be used is to migrate the site to a new location. This is great for easily moving a site from a development area to a live directory without loosing any of your changes or having to change any of the site URLs in the database.


Backup Storage

If the site goes down and the backups are stored on the site then you won't be able to get to it. Backup has built in features that allow for easily sending backups to different remote locations. Here is a list of the available remote locations that BackupBuddy can send to:

  • Amazon S3
  • Dropbox
  • Rackspace
  • FTP
  • Email


Scheduled Backups

BackupBuddy also allows you to create schedules for when backups should be created and where they should be sent to. This feature helps to create a consistent amount of time between each backup without having to remember to login and create the backup.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
iThemes Codex
Codex Navigation
Toolbox