Restore/migrate Bbuddy On Host With One-Click Installers

Dreamhost BackupBuddy

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Windy Phillips_*

Guest_Windy Phillips_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 December 2011 - 09:33 AM

Apologies if this is a duplicate or a stupid question. I did search but didn't find what I was looking for. I'm not a complete WP noob, but I am still a beginner-ish level. I'm looking at purchasing BackupBuddy but want to figure something out before I pull the trigger.

Background:
We use Dreamhost as our host for our Wordpress websites. My only WP experience is with them. Given that, I have no idea how others interact with/install/etc. WP with other host providers.

Dreamhost has a handy-dandy one-click installer for WP available via their webpanel that we have used to install our WP instances (separate, not multi-site). It automatically creates the MySQL database you need, installs WP and prompts you to set up the admin user. In my experience with WP on Dreamhost, when there is an update to WP, I get a link to update in my WP Dashboard. Not sure if this is what others experience. I have never done a "manual" install of WP.

On to my question:
If I set up a testing subdomain area and install WP using the DH one-click installer, etc. and then use BackupBuddy to Migrate that site when it's ready to it's final location will I still see and be able to use update links from the dashboard?

I may not be communicating clearly. I'm not sure to what extent DH has done anything to customize the install and update process for WP and if I will have a different experience using the Migrate feature because it is doing its own install of WP when it migrates. Does that make sense?

Thanks in advance!

#2 Dustin Akers

Dustin Akers

• Moderators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes
  • 17,173 posts

Posted 14 December 2011 - 10:40 AM

Hi Windy,