Jump to content


Better, More Convenient, Private Support for Your iThemes Products Is Here.


We're moving support away from the forum and in to private tickets - Log In to Get Support Here


Note: any currently open support threads in the community forum will stay open while we resolve them.

information

Upgrading To Version 3?



This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Phil_*

Guest_Phil_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 June 2012 - 07:37 AM

Hi Guys,

A friend of mine says that upgrading to version 3 requires yet another plugin to be installed otherwise you get an error. Is this true? I'm concerned that the more plugins you have, the slower your site will go.

Phil

#2 Dustin Akers

Dustin Akers

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes
  • 22,058 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 11:10 AM

Hi Phil,

If you already have BackupBuddy then posting in the BackupBuddy forums after logging into your ithemes username/password for topics concerning BackupBuddy is usually best.

But BackupBuddy 3.0 doesn't need another plugin to be installed. Can be installed like a normal plugin once you download it. Plugins -> Add New -> Upload -> browse to where you downloaded the backupbuddy.zip file to.


Thanks,
-Akers
Welcome to the forums. Be sure to post your questions in the correct forum and don't forget about the new and improved search function located in the top right of the forum pages. The gear/wheel symbol next to the search box will give you more options for advanced searching. Thank you and have a nice day.
PRAISE LORD HELIX

#3 Guest_Phil_*

Guest_Phil_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 June 2012 - 11:50 AM

Hi Akers,

Thanks for responding, but when I do that I get this error message.

Unpacking the packageā€¦
Installing the pluginā€¦
Destination folder already exists. *****
Plugin install failed.

Edited by Jeremy Trask, 15 June 2012 - 12:57 PM.
Removed private path information


#4 Jeremy Trask

Jeremy Trask

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • Others: All Plugins, Builder, Members, Toolkit
  • 14,856 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 12:57 PM

Hi Phil

The basic WordPress install method of uploading the zip requires that you have deleted the previous plugin version that has the same plugin directory name - it does not overwrite for safety in case what you are installing is in fact not the same plugin but a different plugin that may just happen to have the same plugin directory name. You can do this from within WordPress plugin admin - after you have deactivated the existing plugin the admin then gives you the option to delete the plugin - select that option and then you will be able to do the upload of zip installation. This is the same for any plugin that is already installed and you are updating manually in this way.

The additional plugin that your friend may have been referring to is not required but it does enable you to do the zip upload installation in WordPress without having previously deleted the existing version _and_ it zips up and saves off the existing version so you have it available should you need to "roll back" - this works for _any_ plugin you install this way, not just BackupBuddy.

If you have any additional questions please log in to the BackupBuddy Member Forum and post your question there, thanks.

Regards...jeremy

"Everything will be all right in the end. If it isn't all right yet then it isn't the end."





Better, More Convenient, Private Support for Your iThemes Products Is Here.


We're moving support away from the forum and in to private tickets - Log In to Get Support Here


Note: any currently open support threads in the community forum will stay open while we resolve them.