Jump to content


Welcome to the forum:

Welcome to the iThemes, PluginBuddy and WebDesign.com forum. We've created several tutorial video's to help you get you started with using the forum, please check them out!

Also take note of the forum guidelines.


Support hours:

Our moderators actively respond to forum support requests during normal business hours which are Monday-Friday, 8am - 5pm Central Standard Time, typically within one business day. Although some moderators choose to work during the weekends, we can not guarantee immediate attention to your requests. Thanks for understanding.

What is included with support:

Premium support includes theme/plugin issues such as: bugs encountered under normal operation, how to use basic features, basic WordPress help, and basic help with customization (meaning we point you to resources and will help in more depth as time allows). More information.

Please Note:

The iThemes offices will be closed Thursday Nov. 27 and Friday Nov. 28 for Thanksgiving.

Support will be limited, as we allow our support staff to spend some well deserved time off with their families. The iThemes Support team wishes you a great Thanksgiving weekend.

Wordpress Site Synchronisation


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Alan Folkard_*

Guest_Alan Folkard_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 August 2012 - 11:27 AM

I am not in the least technical but would like to understand a bit more about how easy it is to overwrite an existing live site with an offline clone development site.
back up buddy videos and documentation seem to infer the URL’s are dealt with automatically ? Does the uploaded site take on/rename to the correct structure of the live site? Is it all automatic?
My offline development site for instance..
Release version 1 ready for deployment to live site..
Home page URL - http://127.0.0.1:4001/wordpress/
Internal page example - http://127.0.0.1:4001/wordpress/filousa-chrysochous-history/
Plus loads of new content pages and sub pages, posts, plug-ins and changes to the look and feel using PageLines.
Current Live site
Home page URL - http://filousachrysochous.com/
Only one Internal page example - no corresponding page to above but internal page takes the form - http://filousachrysochous.com/about-filousa/

And one blog page – http://filousachrysochous.com/blog/

So presumably the cloned offline site overwrites the live site and takes on the existing URL structure so that the home page URL is the same but with completely new content from the development site?

Sorry to be a pain but this is so important in my version release strategy for my client sites…currently I am using Instant Wordpress – www.instantwp.com for my offline development environment..it provides easy one click install of I guess XAMPP.  Works like a dream and I can even load the development environment on a USB stick to take to client site meetings.  I also currently use a theme framework called PageLines which enables me to create amazing look and feel with drag and drop simplicity – no code involved but I am considering changing to ithemes/builder.

The question is how best to achieve two way synchronisation of wordpress sites between offline staging/development server and live production site using ithemes products.

#2 Dustin Akers

Dustin Akers

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes
  • 18,314 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 04:20 PM

Hi Alan,

A BackupBuddy backup creates a copy of the site in the backup essentially, when someone uses that backup file to migrate to a new location using importbuddy (downloaded from in BackupBuddy) the new location gets the copy of the site as it was when the backup was made.

The two sites (the source site and destination site) aren't connected. Changes made on one won't affect the other.

It is possible to create a site on a development location then create a backup of the dev site to migrate it to a live site when it is ready, many people do that. To migrate where there is already a site the live site has to be removed more or less first (there needs to not be a WordPress installation where you are migrating/restoring to, and importbuddy wants a blank database to import into whether that is the old database at the location wiped clean or a newly made database is fine either way) and then can migrate there.

BackupBuddy can't merge sites though so when migrating the dev site over the live site's spot the live site is completely replaced with the dev one as it is in the backup file.


Thanks,
-Akers
Welcome to the forums. Be sure to post your questions in the correct forum and don't forget about the new and improved search function located in the top right of the forum pages. The gear/wheel symbol next to the search box will give you more options for advanced searching. Thank you and have a nice day.
PRAISE LORD HELIX

#3 Guest_Rick_*

Guest_Rick_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 August 2012 - 10:10 AM

I am a new user of Backup Buddy and am trying to migrate a development site to a live site. All of the files migrate but when I click on a menu item the URL shows the URL of the development site and not the live site.

#4 Dustin Akers

Dustin Akers

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes
  • 18,314 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 10:35 AM

Hi Rick,

Please login with your ithemes username and password, then you can post about your issue in the BackupBuddy forums: http://ithemes.com/forum/forum/74-backupbuddy/


Thanks,
-Akers
Welcome to the forums. Be sure to post your questions in the correct forum and don't forget about the new and improved search function located in the top right of the forum pages. The gear/wheel symbol next to the search box will give you more options for advanced searching. Thank you and have a nice day.
PRAISE LORD HELIX