Jump to content


Welcome to the forum:

Welcome to the iThemes, PluginBuddy and WebDesign.com forum. We've created several tutorial video's to help you get you started with using the forum, please check them out!

Also take note of the forum guidelines.


Support hours:

Our moderators actively respond to forum support requests during normal business hours which are Monday-Friday, 8am - 5pm Central Standard Time, typically within one business day. Although some moderators choose to work during the weekends, we can not guarantee immediate attention to your requests. Thanks for understanding.

What is included with support:

Premium support includes theme/plugin issues such as: bugs encountered under normal operation, how to use basic features, basic WordPress help, and basic help with customization (meaning we point you to resources and will help in more depth as time allows). More information.

Backup Buddy Cloning

cloning backup buddy

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
1 reply to this topic

#1 Guest_Richard Young_*

Guest_Richard Young_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 October 2012 - 05:15 AM

Hi, I see Backup Buddy can move (migrate) a site to another server from within the dashboard.

I this process actually a clone rather than a move?

I actually want to take one master site and replicate it many times to new cPanel accounts and then make tweaks to the new site but I want the original (master site) to remain so I can clone it again.

You do not actually use the word "Clone" in your description only "Migrate"

Thanks !!

#2 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,871 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 08:38 AM

Hi Richard,

Clone and Migration are essentially the same thing.  Neither are going to move the original site, you'd have to remove the site yourself.  So, if you create a master site, you can make any changes to it you'd like, backup the site using BackupBuddy and then migrate the backup of that site anywhere you'd like.  Again, this does not change or take down the original site.  You can repeat this process as often as you'd like.  

Let us know if you have any additional questions.

Thanks,

Elise