Prepurchase Questions

Backup Buddy

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Lisa_*

Guest_Lisa_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 October 2012 - 06:42 PM

I ran your test compatibility plugin and one area failed (PHP Register Globals is disabled). Not sure what that means and if I can move forward or not. I'm not a developer but did build my own site. Can you please tell me if this is a major problem or if I can move forward safely?

I host on Hostgator and use Headway for my theme.  I'm currently hosting through someone else but I've experienced poor service. My reason to purchase Backup Buddy is to back everything up and then get direct hosting through Hostgator without a middleman. I'd like to do this without the person hosting my site knowing in advance and would rather not have to ask them for a backup as I do not have given me access to my CPanel and can't back it up myself. Will BackupBuddy allow me to do this?

#2 Dustin Akers

Dustin Akers

• Moderators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes
  • 16,430 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 10:03 AM

Hi Lisa,

BackupBuddy should still be able to work fine for the site.

PHP Register Globals is checked as a "for your information" kind of setting and isn't recommended for general use, it shouldn't affect BackupBuddy. It means the server will automatically register the user's input as variables and that isn't the best idea for server's to have, so PHP Register Globals have even been removed from the newer PHP versions (PHP 6 I think).

BackupBuddy will let you create a backup of your site yourself and then you can do with that backup as want (store it, use the backup to migrate the site to a new location, restore, etc).

Thanks,
-Akers