Jump to content


Welcome to the forum:

Welcome to the iThemes, PluginBuddy and WebDesign.com forum. We've created several tutorial video's to help you get you started with using the forum, please check them out!

Also take note of the forum guidelines.


Support hours:

Our moderators actively respond to forum support requests during normal business hours which are Monday-Friday, 8am - 5pm Central Standard Time, typically within one business day. Although some moderators choose to work during the weekends, we can not guarantee immediate attention to your requests. Thanks for understanding.

What is included with support:

Premium support includes theme/plugin issues such as: bugs encountered under normal operation, how to use basic features, basic WordPress help, and basic help with customization (meaning we point you to resources and will help in more depth as time allows). More information.

Persisting Excluded Tables During Migration

migration exclude tables

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
2 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Harley_*

Guest_Harley_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 February 2013 - 12:28 PM

I am considering buying BackupBuddy for migrations. My main concern is a requirement that users are not migrated from our test environment to our production environment.  If we "Exclude" the user tables during a migration, will the users of the production site persist or will the user table be lost?

#2 Dustin Akers

Dustin Akers

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes
  • 17,694 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:09 AM

Hi Harley,

That description should work fine. Excluding any table(s) from being backed up will not modify the production (source) site in any way. It will exclude that entire table and its contents so it will not end up in the database dump file that stores the backed up contents.

You will have to recreate the users table on the destination site somehow/make a new one for WordPress to work though. I'm not sure if WordPress will attempt to auto-generate one if it's missing. BackupBuddy will not fill in missing data that is required but was excluded.

During ImportBuddy, it might get mad about the lack of a users table. I don't think it interrupts the process but I know it at least displays error messages/warnings.


Thanks,
-Akers
Welcome to the forums. Be sure to post your questions in the correct forum and don't forget about the new and improved search function located in the top right of the forum pages. The gear/wheel symbol next to the search box will give you more options for advanced searching. Thank you and have a nice day.
PRAISE LORD HELIX

#3 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 February 2013 - 12:53 PM

Thank you for your response Akers.  It sounds like during ImportBuddy, all the tables from the DB are dropped then recreated from the backup.  If that is the case, it might be easier in my situation to do this manually.

Thanks again!
Harley