Child Theme Vs Builder Clarification + Pods Question

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
2 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Karen_*

Guest_Karen_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 May 2013 - 10:18 AM

Hello,

I recently decided to use Custom Post Types and Taxonomies on our site because most sites that handle our needs (our site is a list site where the list needs to be viewed in different orders and different subsets)  While I once coded mainframes & minis, I don't know this platform and want to stick with plug-ins/widgets where ever possible and avoid needing to code. I am comfortable with short code or other minor changes.

I've done a little work on a site in Word Press, so I'm a beginner. I've looked at the information on your site and I'm just a little confused about the Builder in iThemes.

Do I need to also select a theme for Builder? I noticed that many themes say they're 'powered by Builder'. What does that mean exactly?  If I use one of these themes, will it come with Builder so I can create my own layouts?

It looks like I can build from a basic framework and use style manager to create the css, is that correct?

Are there layout maps available for each of the themes? I looked at the documentation and I didn't find them...maybe I missed it.

I've selected Pods for my CPT plug-in. They suggest iThemes as a very compatible theme...are there limitations with this compatibility where Pods does not work very well, i.e. particular themes or building blocks?

Thanks for your time!

Cheers, Karen

#2 Guest_Karen_*

Guest_Karen_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 May 2013 - 11:50 AM

I decided to dig into the detailed documentation and found that there is a Builder default child theme.

I'll spend the afternoon reading the documentation which I think will answer most of my questions.

I'll update as I go. Any comments are still welcome!!

Cheers! Karen

#3 Ronald

Ronald

Forum Admin

• Administrators