Jump to content


Backupbuddy Pre-Sales Tech Question - Move Dev To Live?

move backupbuddy development production

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
1 reply to this topic

#1 Craig Berry1322754355

Craig Berry1322754355

    New Member

  • Members
  • Others: BackupBuddy, BackupBuddy
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 12:26 PM

Hello,
I'm looking to clone an existing production site to my localhost for a redesign.

When it comes time to deploy/move from localhost to production - what happens to new posts/content on the production site? Is the production database cleared before uploading or will the redesigned site get merged with the production one?

Thanks!
Craig

#2 Dustin Akers

Dustin Akers

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes
  • 16,430 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 04:11 PM

Hi Craig,

The backed up database being migrated needs to be imported into a blank database, if that means a new and different database than the destination site has then that is fine, or if that means wiping the destination site's database to use it for the migration then that is fine too. Can choose which way.

But migrating a copy of a site to a new location puts that backed up copy at that location, so it would take the place of the old site and not "merge" sites if the site being replaced had some new content.



Thanks,
-Akers
Welcome to the forums. Be sure to post your questions in the correct forum and don't forget about the new and improved search function located in the top right of the forum pages. The gear/wheel symbol next to the search box will give you more options for advanced searching. Thank you and have a nice day.
PRAISE LORD HELIX