Jump to content


Welcome to the forum:

Welcome to the iThemes, PluginBuddy and WebDesign.com forum. We've created several tutorial video's to help you get you started with using the forum, please check them out!

Also take note of the forum guidelines.


Support hours:

Our moderators actively respond to forum support requests during normal business hours which are Monday-Friday, 8am - 5pm Central Standard Time, typically within one business day. Although some moderators choose to work during the weekends, we can not guarantee immediate attention to your requests. Thanks for understanding.

What is included with support:

Premium support includes theme/plugin issues such as: bugs encountered under normal operation, how to use basic features, basic WordPress help, and basic help with customization (meaning we point you to resources and will help in more depth as time allows). More information.

resolved

Product Download With Large File Size Not Working



17 replies to this topic

#1 ebarila

ebarila

    Member

  • Members
  • Others: Builder, Builder
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 20 November 2013 - 06:19 PM

If I link to the file directly in a browser, the file downloads correctly.
If I create a product, add the download link, all is fine till I try and download it. It sees the file, but it comes up as  0 bytes.
The file is 117,782 KB, Smaller files are linking fine.

I'm basically at a stand still till the product features image is fixed, and this.

http://larryandeddy.com/store/
test


Also is there any any pagination on the store page.
Thanks
Eddy

#2 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,853 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 21 November 2013 - 11:10 AM

Hi Eddy,

This particular issue tends to be server related.  There is a setting, allow_url_fopen, which needs to be on, but is often set to off.  Some server companies let you change this yourself, but you may need to contact your host and have them change it for you.  

If your hosting company allows you to make this change on your own, you'd go into your FTP where you should see a php.ini file.  In it, you should see the allow_url_fopen option.  Change the setting to on, then save and re-FTP the file.

Give that a try and then let us know how it goes.

Thanks,

Elise

#3 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,853 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 21 November 2013 - 11:11 AM

As a P.S. - I responded to your featured image issue here:  http://ithemes.com/forum/topic/53099-problem-changing-featured-image-on-a-product-page/

#4 ebarila

ebarila

    Member

  • Members
  • Others: Builder, Builder
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 21 November 2013 - 11:50 AM

I am referring to the featured image of a product category. No images show up. Click on a product category on my site, no pictures only title.
Thanks
Eddy

#5 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,853 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 21 November 2013 - 12:10 PM

Hi Eddy,

In your original post, you said,

Quote

I am unable change the featured image on a product page.

You didn't mention anything about the category pages, so I didn't address that issue.  If you have further questions about featured images, please continue your previous thread regarding featured images or start a new thread as it doesn't relate to the topic of this post.

Thanks,

Elise

#6 ebarila

ebarila

    Member

  • Members
  • Others: Builder, Builder
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 21 November 2013 - 04:40 PM

Sorry about the confusion.
I was referring to one of my earlier posts which I never got a reply for.


Quote

   Featured Image Not Working In Extentions

Started by ebarila, Nov 16 2013 02:09 AM

I f I choose a builder extension, the featured image is not found when working with products.
My workaround is to create a post with a featured image, then link it to a product page.
If I set up a product category widget, it doesn't find the featured image..
This is double the workload.
Thanks
Eddy


#7 ebarila

ebarila

    Member

  • Members
  • Others: Builder, Builder
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 21 November 2013 - 06:33 PM

I have contacted my hosting company and this was their reply.

For your server, the PHP value 'allow_url_fopen' is already ON. You can take a look at your PHP values for the server here:

http://larryandeddy.com/phpinfo.php
Please ask the script provider to provide further details on what needs to be changed on the server side for their script to work.

Thanks in advance
Eddy

#8 ebarila

ebarila

    Member

  • Members
  • Others: Builder, Builder
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 21 November 2013 - 06:48 PM

deleted

#9 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,853 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 22 November 2013 - 01:44 PM

Hi Eddy,

Can you send me admin login credentials for your site and FTP login?  That way I can take a look at the backend and also have access to the file to test on my server.  You can PM the information to me here on the forum or email it to me at elise@ithemes.com.  Just be sure to include a link to this post so I know what the message is in regards to.

Thanks,

Elise

#10 ebarila

ebarila

    Member

  • Members
  • Others: Builder, Builder
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 22 November 2013 - 08:50 PM

Details sent
Thanks
Eddy

#11 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,853 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 25 November 2013 - 04:26 PM

Hi Eddy,

I was able to go in through FTP and download the product download file you were using.  I added it to a product in my store and was able to download the file successfully.  It had a password on it, so I couldn't unarchive the file to be sure, but it was 4.7MB and when I downloaded it from your site, I wasn't required to enter a password.  

I tried looking at the http://larryandeddy.com/phpinfo.php page again, but I'm getting a 404 page.  I also tried logging in to your site, but I'm getting a redirect error (http://larryandeddy.com/wp-login.php).  If you get those issues fixed for me, it'd be a great help.

Thanks,

Elise

#12 ebarila

ebarila

    Member

  • Members
  • Others: Builder, Builder
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 26 November 2013 - 05:31 AM

Hi Elise
The test download file is 115.02MB. All the small files download fine, they are smaller than 20MB.
It seems any file over 20MB will not work. I know the server has a 20MB upload restriction, that's why I link directly to the file.
Downloading the file file directly from my web server works, it's only through exchange it is not working.
I got rid of the passwords on the small files, only the large test file has a password.
You should be able to log in without a problem now.
No idea why they took the phpinfo page down.
Thanks
Eddy

#13 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,853 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 26 November 2013 - 05:35 PM

Hey Eddy,

I didn't want you to think I'd forgotten about you!  :)  I'm still looking into this and hope to have some sort of an answer for you soon.  

I'll let you know as soon as I have any more information for you!

Thanks,

Elise

#14 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,853 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 27 November 2013 - 10:54 AM

Hey Eddy,

So this appears to be a conflict with the Builder SEO plugin.  With that deactivated, I'm able to download the file without problem and it shows it as 120KB in my downloads folder.  Now the file still appears to be password protected, so I couldn't open it to be sure that everything is showing as it should.  So could you please test that for me and let me know how it goes?  

If you're needing another SEO plugin to use, you might check out the All in One SEO Pack by Michael Torbert.  

If you could test and make sure this has resolved the issue and get back to me, I'd appreciate it.  Once we verify this is the issue, I'll pass the information along to the developers so they can look into the conflict.

Thanks,

Elise

#15 ebarila

ebarila

    Member

  • Members
  • Others: Builder, Builder
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 27 November 2013 - 04:28 PM

Hi Elise

I thought I disabled all my plugins when I tested it it, obviously not. Thanks a lot for your help and support, much appreciated.
The download file should be 115MB, I sent you the password. It's all working for me now.



Thanks again

Eddy


#16 ebarila

ebarila

    Member

  • Members
  • Others: Builder, Builder
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 November 2013 - 04:43 PM

Hi Elise
Having the same problem with All In One SEO Pack , SEO Ultimate.

Thanks
Eddy

#17 ebarila

ebarila

    Member

  • Members
  • Others: Builder, Builder
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 November 2013 - 05:20 PM

Hi Elise

Seems to be working with Yoast WordPress SEO

Thanks
Eddy

#18 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,853 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 29 November 2013 - 11:34 AM

Hey Eddy,

Thanks so much for the feedback.  I'll make sure the developers know there is a conflict with other SEO plugins as well.  I do really appreciate you letting us know!

Thanks again!

Elise



Reply to this Topic


ATTENTION
If this topic is marked RESOLVED or INFORMATION, or if you are NOT experiencing EXACTLY the same issue, please start a new topic to provide the details of your problem. If the solution provided doesn't work for you, you should start a new topic. If you feel this thread contains relevant information, you may include a link to it in your new topic. To ensure that we can process your support request efficiently, ALWAYS include a link to your site, and/or the page your request is related to. When posting your question or request on the forum, please be as concise and specific as possible. The shorter and more to the point you can make your request, the better.

For BackupBuddy related issues, be sure to include the status log from your most recent backup.

CLICK HERE to start a new topic in the Exchange ecommerce plugin forum.


  



Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: resolved

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users