Jump to content


resolved

On The /store Page, Can The Title Be Moved Above The Product Image?



10 replies to this topic

#1 ujim

ujim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • Others: BackupBuddy
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 26 November 2013 - 08:30 PM

Hello,

On the /store page, the product image is above the product title. I would prefer to have the product title above the image.

Is there a way to do this?

If not, can I add this option as a future feature request?

Thanks!

Jim
Jim Krenz
UberQuality

#2 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,217 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 27 November 2013 - 03:03 PM

Hey Jim,

There is a way to do this.

In lib/templates/content-store/elements, you'll find the file product.php.  Copy that file and then in your theme folder, you'll create a folder called "exchange" and paste in your copy of that file.

On line 21 of that file, you'll see <?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/loops/product-images' ); ?>.  Move that line of code beneath the closing div on line 24.  So the original code looks like this:

<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_before_product_element' ); ?>
<li class="it-exchange-product">
<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_begin_product_element' ); ?>
<?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/loops/product-images' ); ?>
<div class="it-exchange-product-details">
<?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/loops/product-info' ); ?>
</div>
<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_end_product_element' ); ?>
</li>
<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_after_product_element' ); ?>

You'll change it to this:


<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_before_product_element' ); ?>
<li class="it-exchange-product">
<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_begin_product_element' ); ?>
<div class="it-exchange-product-details">
<?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/loops/product-info' ); ?>
</div>
<?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/loops/product-images' ); ?>
<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_end_product_element' ); ?>
</li>
<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_after_product_element' ); ?>

That should do the trick for you, but let us know if you have any additional questions.

Thanks,

Elise

#3 ujim

ujim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • Others: BackupBuddy
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 27 November 2013 - 03:34 PM

Hi Elise,

I just tried that, and it seems like the change affected the product page, rather than the store page. Aside from the change being in the wrong place, the product page is a bit screwed up by this.

Thoughts?

Jim
Jim Krenz
UberQuality

#4 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,217 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 02 December 2013 - 04:36 PM

Hey Jim,

I apologize.  The directory you create in your theme should be /exchange/content-store/elements, not just /exchange/.  Otherwise the instructions are the same.

Again, I apologize for getting that directory wrong.  Give that a try and let me know how it goes.

Thanks,

Elise

#5 ujim

ujim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • Others: BackupBuddy
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 02 December 2013 - 06:44 PM

Hi Elise,

That directory correction fixed the display issue on the product page. Thanks for that.

Its current layout is better than before. Is there a way to get the product title directly above the image? (I would prefer the price and view details link under the the image). So my preferred order would be:

Title
Image
Price
View Details
Jim Krenz
UberQuality

#6 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,217 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 03 December 2013 - 02:53 PM

Hi Jim,

Try using this in that same product.php file:

<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_before_product_element' ); ?>
<li class="it-exchange-product">
<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_begin_product_element' ); ?>
<div class="it-exchange-product-details">
<?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/elements/title' ); ?>
</div>
<?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/loops/product-images' ); ?>
<div class="it-exchange-product-details">
<?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/elements/base-price' ); ?>
<?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/elements/permalink' ); ?>
</div>
<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_end_product_element' ); ?>
</li>
<?php do_action( 'it_exchange_content_store_after_product_element' ); ?>

Let me know how it goes.

Thanks,

Elise

#7 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,217 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 03 December 2013 - 03:03 PM

Hey Jim,

Just in case it wasn't clear, you'll want to replace the code you currently have with the code I proved in my last post!  :)

Thanks,

Elise

#8 ujim

ujim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • Others: BackupBuddy
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 04 December 2013 - 06:11 AM

Hi Elise,

That was clear, and it works! Thank you!

One last request, if possible. I'd like to either move "View Details" (the permalink) to the same line as the price, or I'd like it to be left justified (so that it would be under the price).

If neither of the above is possible, I am considering removing the permalink, as it is a bit redundant. I presume that deleting <?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/elements/permalink' ); ?> will remove it, correct?

Jim
Jim Krenz
UberQuality

#9 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,217 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 04 December 2013 - 03:11 PM

Hi Jim,

It looks like maybe your theme is causing this issue, or you've added some additional code.  It's wrapped both the price and the View Details in their own paragraph tags, there's a break tag added before the View Details text, etc.

BreakTag.png

You can see on my site that I have the templates set up the same way currently and don't have that issue.  

MyCode.png

I tested it using Attent (the theme currently activated) and with Twenty Thirteen, both display properly.

If you do chose to remove it, it's just the one line of code:

<?php it_exchange_get_template_part( 'content-store/elements/permalink' ); ?>

Thanks,

Elise

#10 ujim

ujim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • Others: BackupBuddy
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 04 December 2013 - 06:48 PM

Confirmed—it is my theme that is causing that issue.

Thanks for all of your help with this!

Happy holidays!

Jim
Jim Krenz
UberQuality

#11 Elise Alley

Elise Alley

    iThemes Support

  • Administrators
  • Others: All Plugins, All Themes, Members, Moderators, Toolkit, Webdesign
  • 5,217 posts
  • LocationOklahoma City, OK

Posted 05 December 2013 - 09:34 AM

Happy to have helped, Jim!  Let us know if you have any additional questions.

Happy holidays to you, too!

Thanks,

Elise



Reply to this Topic


ATTENTION
If this topic is marked RESOLVED or INFORMATION, or if you are NOT experiencing EXACTLY the same issue, please start a new topic to provide the details of your problem. If the solution provided doesn't work for you, you should start a new topic. If you feel this thread contains relevant information, you may include a link to it in your new topic. To ensure that we can process your support request efficiently, ALWAYS include a link to your site, and/or the page your request is related to. When posting your question or request on the forum, please be as concise and specific as possible. The shorter and more to the point you can make your request, the better.

For BackupBuddy related issues, be sure to include the status log from your most recent backup.

CLICK HERE to start a new topic in the Exchange ecommerce plugin forum.


  



Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: resolved

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users