Written by on

How to Plan a Site Migration

Hi everyone. Bes Zain here. :)

Migrating your site from one location to another is one of the many things you can do with BackupBuddy. One thing I notice happening regularly is that many users jump right into the process of migrating a site.

While jumping right in can be excellent in terms of learning and is actually what I try to do for everything, some things can be done a bit better with a little bit planning.

When you’re dealing with something as important as your website data, a little planning may help even more, correct?

Planning Your Next Migration

Many things can go wrong with anything you do, including your migrations. Here is a short list of things you can keep in mind before or while jumping into the next BackupBuddy migration for your sites:

How do you plan your BackupBuddy migrations?

How do you plan your BackupBuddy migrations?

  1. How long will you keep your OLD site/domain around before you delete it?

    This may be the easiest question to answer, though it may also have the biggest impact on your new site. If you’re migrating due to changing domains, you want the old site/domain to be around for as long as possible with proper redirects (more on that in #5 below).

  2. Do you know what to check for, on the newly migrated site, to confirm that the migration was a success?

    This can be anything like checking posts and pages, trying to add a comment, checking the admin area and plugins, logging in and out of the new site, etc.

    As long as you can verify that the new site works in the most common public places and the most common Admin areas, you should be fine.

  3. How long will you keep your BackupBuddy backup file?

    Believe it or not, your newly migrated site may show some things you don’t want or want to change way after your migration is successful.

    Keeping a BackupBuddy backup file around for a while can help in attempting a migration again in case you or your server/host missed something the first time. Some people tend to keep backup files around for a long time, like months or even longer.

  4. What NOT to migrate over.

    When you’re migrating, you’re also giving your site kind of a new life on a new domain, site, server, or host. It is kind of a fresh start. You can delete unwanted files and even deactivate and delete plugins you’re not using before you make a backup and long before you migrate a site.

    This will help keep your backup files smaller, make the migration faster and also make it easier for you to verify the migration afterwards.

  5. Change all the appropriate links outside of BackupBuddy.

    This applies strongly if you’re migrating from one domain to another, as I mentioned in #1 above. If you put in manual links to your old domain on your site or elsewhere, be sure to change them or setup a redirect on your old site.

    When you migrate a site, you want anyone and everyone visiting the old site or domain to be automatically redirected to the new site or domain.

That’s the short list to keep in mind when backing up and migrating your sites with BackupBuddy. You can even jump right into migrations while knowing that the above things are out there.

As long as you’re aware of what happens before, during and after a migration with the help of the above plans list, your migrations should go very smoothly.

What is Your Site Migration Plan?

How do you plan and perform site migrations? Do you plan anything, even just mentally, or do you jump right into it? What’s on your migration list?

Please share your thoughts in the comments below. Thanks! :)


  1. This web site really has all of the info I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    Visit my homepage … market research companies in london (Bettie)



Sale ends Nov. 30! Save 50% OFF our entire library of WordPress tools Get the coupon